Thursday, January 20, 2011

HIT IT & QUIT IT- Jan. 17, 2011: 'The B-Boy Special' with Eric Orr

Its no secret, New Yorker's have the gift of gab. This week's show further reinforces this fact.

In the studio for 'The B-Boy Special' was South Bronx artist and hop-hop luminary Eric Orr hyping his one-man show launching tonight at Rebel Yell Gallery on K. Road in Auckland PLUS rattling off some amazing stories about growing up in the South Bronx during the infancy and early school years of the hip-hop movement. Your hosts were rendered semi-dumbfounded as Eric casually recounted tales of coming up with Jazzy Jay, bombing with Keith Haring and helping Bambaataa construct his studio. W.T.F. Count me in at Rebel Yell this evening and Black Milk's 4-piece performance at FuZen later tonight.


HIQI Jan. 17, 2011 Playlist- 'The B-Boy Special'
South Bronx – The Bottom Line (Inst) [Rissa Chrissa]
C.O.D. – In the Bottle [Emergency]
Incredible Bongo Band – Apache (Grandmaster Flash Rock Steady Mix) [MGM]
Dennis Coffey – Ride Sally Ride [Sussex]
Key-matic – Breakin' in Space [Radar]
Man Parrish – Boogie Down Bronx [Polydor]
Extra T’s – E.T’s boogie [Sunnyview]
Zapp & Roger – Do it Roger [Warner Bros.]
Strafe – Set it Off [Jus Born Records]
Ultramagnetic MC’s – Give the Drummer Some [Next Plateau]
Stetsasonic – Speaking of a Girl Named Suzy [Tommy Boy]
Jimmy Spicer – Money [Spring]
Taana Gardner – Heartbeat [West End]
Cat Stevens – Was Dog a Doughnut [A&M]
Dexter Wansel – Theme from the Planets [Philadelphia International Records]
The Whole Darn Family – Seven Minutes of Funk [Soul International]
Kraftwerk – Numbers [Warner Bros]
Hashim – Al Nafaayish [Cutting Records]
South Bronx Movement – You’ve Got the Power [Positive Juice Records]
Grand Master Flash & The Furious Five – Scorpio [Sugar Hill Records]
Jazzy Jay – Def Jam [Def Jam Records]

HIQI Jan. 17 2011 Pt. 1
HIQI Jan. 17 2011 Pt. 2

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

HIT IT AND QUIT IT- Jan. 10, 2011 (We're back...)

What: Hit It and Quit It- Jan. 10, 2011
Who: Recloose, Frank Booker, Mark Williams and Nyntee
Where: Auckland, Nu Zilland
Why: Its time to make the donuts.

Show summary/notes:
  • This was our first show of 2011.
  • Mark Williams expounded on the just-transpired Fat Freddy's Drop summer tour and the growing 'Fredhead' phenomenon.
  • The new George playlist system doesn't work that well. We've contacted the authorities.
  • If I ever say 'crackalacking' again please promptly wack me upside the head.
Next week: Artist extraordinaire and South Bronx native Eric Orr will be live in the studio to talk about his upcoming show at Rebel Yell Gallery (next week in AK) PLUS share some hometown stories... we hope. He's asked us to bring some 'robot jams'- shout em out!

Cover Art: Mike Cina (

HIQI PLAYLIST Jan 10, 2010
J Rocc- Play This Too [Stones Throw]
James Brown-There Was A Time (Whiskey Barons Edit) [White]
The Break Boys- The Break Goes On [Fourth Floor]
Will Powers- Adventures In Success (Dub Mix) [Island]
Lord Echo- Thinking Of You [Economy]
The Popular People's- Front Saved My Day [PPF]
Krystal Clear- Tried For Your Love [Bootleg]
Real Ax Band- Neunauge [April]
Inkswel & The Uh Oh Orchestra- Everyone Is Listening [Cuckoo]
Unusual & Electric- That's Nice [Zirkus]
LTD- Love To The World (DJ Day Edit) [White]
Andres- Vibe Zone [Mahogani]
Cuthead- The Sinner [Uncanny Valley]
Lucy Hawkins- Gotta Get Out Of Here [Sam]
Eddy Grant- Nobody's Got Time [Torpedo]
Christopher Rau- The Cool World [Smallville]
Tevo Howard- Content [Permanent Vacation]
Roy Davis Jr.- Michael [Nuphonic]
West Norwood Cassette Library- Blonde on Blonde [Teal]
Chacho Brodas- Siente Mi Funk [Tokyo Dawn]
Fhlostom Paradigm- The Simple Things [Saturn Never Sleeps]
Rangers- Golden Triangles [Olde English Spelling Bee]
DJ Roc- I Can't Control The Feeling [Planet Mu]

HIQI Jan. 10, 2011 Pt. 1
HIQI Jan. 10, 2011 Pt. 2